Public Holidays in Madrid, Spain 2018

Public Holidays in Madrid 2018

This is a list of public holidays for 2018. Some holidays are local (only for the Region of Madrid), other are national.

Please note that there are no classes on public/ bank holidays. However, TANDEM Madrid makes up all classes and activities that might otherwise be lost due to national or local public holidays, independent of the course type, the length of booking, the number of public holidays in the week. You never miss a class.


1st January (Monday) – New Year’s Day

6th January (Saturday)** – Epiphany

29th March (Thursday) – Maundy Thursday

30th March (Friday) – Good Friday

1st May (Tuesday) – Labour Day

2nd May (Wednesday)** – Holiday for the Autonomous Community of Madrid

15th May (Tuesday) – St. Isidro

15th August (Wednesday) – Assumption Day

12th October (Friday) – National Day Of the Kingdom of Spain

1st November (Thursday) – All Saints’ Day

9th November (Friday) – Almudena´s Day

6th December (Thursday) – Constitution Day

8th December (Saturday) – Immaculate Conception Day

25th December (Tuesday) – Christmas Day

** Public holidays listed above may undergo future changes due to Madrid´s local laws. Responsibility can not be assumed, should any such changes regarding local or national holidays occur.

Christmas Holidays: from 22nd December 2018 to the 7th January 2019

The school will be closed during the Christmas Holidays.

Additional information:

  • Classes are held from Monday to Friday. The school is closed on Sundays.
  • 1 lesson = 45 minutes
  • Timetable of general courses: 9.30 -13.00 / 15.00
  • Groups have a maximum of 10 students in all courses, except in evening courses, where the maximum is 12. The minimum number of students is 4.
  • The average number of students in each class / course is 6.
  • The minimum age for students is 16. Students under 18 years of age need written permission from their parents.

For more information please read our general conditions.

Please check out our page about useful information.